My messy desk and the Sunshine Blog Award! Woop woop!

messy desk

Hello there princesses! (and a couple of princes too)

What is your work space like?  Are you generally messy or tidy or somewhere in between?  I’m a rare bird in that I can tolerate – and even quite like as I think it looks interesting – a bit of surface mess and chaos, but drawers, cupboards, wardrobes or anything which houses stuff put away or out of sight absolutely has to be pristine and orderly.  The idea of clothes being put away on hangers inside out makes me itch!  Underwear not folded neatly in its drawer?  I’d rather make myself late than leave it knowingly like that. Ahem.  A little bit OCD I know, but never mind…

So the above is my desk in its current state.  The book open next to the computer is an art journal I’m working on, made from a kids’ board book.  I love repurposing old things!  So cheap (or free!) and better for the environment than contributing to so much mindless consumerism.  Having said that, I also get great joy from purchasing exciting art supplies…ho hum…  I’m really pleased with how the journal is looking so far, mainly achieved with scrap papers and a lot of washi tape, my current obsession.  I’ll post pictures soon.

What does your work area look like at the moment?

I’m also really excited to accept the Sunshine award nomination from Jill at the artist’s nest.  Basically everything this woman writes I agree with and end up nodding my head up and down quite vigorously to. Her creative blog is very inspiring!

sunshineaward

Rules:

* Post a picture of the award on your blog
* Link back to the person who nominated you
* List ten random facts about yourself
* Nominate ten fellow bloggers who “positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” (I’m doing 4)
* Comment on their blogs to notify them of their nomination

So here are ten random facts about me:

♥ I embrace my inappropriate crushes:  Ron Swanson, TJ Hooker and Billy Joel, to name but a few.

♥ I could spend every day of my life on the beach and be happy.  So relaxing and invigorating at the same time.

♥ I’ve written a diary since I was 12.  Sporadic at times, but I love the fact I have a record of my life and feelings in written form to look back on when I’m feeling nostalgic.

♥ I once slipped on a banana skin in front of my new boyfriend on a trip to Amsterdam.  A couple of hours later I lost a contact lens, hadn’t brought a spare pair or my glasses, so spent the weekend in a state of half-blind mortification.  We didn’t stay together but goodness it was a memorable trip!

♥ I believe in ghosts.

♥ I once shared a biscuit at a party with Jeremy Irons.  Yeah baby!

♥ In another carnation I’d be a hippy yoga beach bum in India.

♥ I’d like to visit New York some day.

♥ I love finding stuff next to the bins in Barcelona!

♥ Despite being British and a real home-body, I rarely drink tea.  I like it, but not loads, and I absolutely love coffee, so one hit of caffeine is enough for me.

And here are my nominees:

http://happylittlesurprises.com/

the Positive Slant: http://alexandracoulter.wordpress.com/

http://joyfuleveryday.wordpress.com/

http://thehappinesscocktail.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “My messy desk and the Sunshine Blog Award! Woop woop!

  1. What a fun list! Sharing a biscuit with Jeremy Irons, oh my! And I love your workspace. Personally, I feel comforted by a little bit of clutter. But like you, there are certain things I’m a neat freak about, and I always seem concerned with the angles of things that are sitting on my desktop. 🙂

    Thanks for your kind words about my blog! So sweet. 🙂

  2. Thanks for nominating my Blog! I love your rosy view of life and have signed up to follow your joyful postings.

Leave a Reply

