14 ways to use washi tape!

WASHI TAPES

One of my many (I like to think) wholesome obsessions is the humble washi or decorative tape.  I cannot get enough of it! So pretty! So cheap (ok relatively speaking, it’s affordable at least) so versatile and usable. Basically, anything that you might want to decoupage (and you´ll probably believe me that in my case that includes a great number of items) you can do so much more quickly and easily with washi tape.  I love a bit of instant gratification!

So for example, I´ve used washi tape around the light switches in my wee studio (Joe drew the line at anywhere else in the house; it´s true, sometimes I get carried away and need reining in a bit!); around the door frames (this idea from A beautiful Mess, love that blog!); as original frames around photos or pictures on the wall; in my cards and collages and art journals; and on this Ikea chair:

IMG_2609

which I´ll be posting about in the near future.  I love how it turned out!  You could also decorate plain photo frames, jazz up envelopes, lampshades, any old furniture, or make an actual collage using only washi tape in different patterns and configurations.  I did this with some lovely Japanese paper I was given from the beautiful Japanese shop in Barcelona, which I think I´ve mentioned before, is pretty much my favourite shop ever.

Japanese paper collage

japanese paper without frame

Some other ideas I’ve seen around:

  • on jam jars to make pen holders
  • on the keys of keyboards.  The tape is normally slightly transparent so you should still be able to see the letters.
  • to decorate mouse mats
  • to decorate plain coasters
  • on the side of picture frames
  • to turn a plain paper bag into a gift bag
  • on plain notebooks
  • on clothes pegs to use as office accessories
  • on glass vases…

I’m sure a million other ideas are out there.  Let me know if you have any good ones!

Happy crafting my darlinks!

Jenny xx

8 thoughts on “14 ways to use washi tape!

Leave a Reply

