3 Ordinary Things Worth Celebrating

ThingsWorthCelebrating_700px

Linking in with the lovely The Petit Cadeau and Joyful Roots blogs for a community blog tour of everyday things worth celebrating.  Hooray!

Here’s my  list of 3 out-of-the-ordinary things I believe are worth celebrating: Stay tuned for further installments, I have many more items to add!

1.  Getting old.

A lot of people in the world don’t get that privilege. I’ll worry about potential ill-health when the time comes, but in the meantime another grey hair and wrinkle is going to be cause to celebrate! I’m still here!  I’m alive and kicking and look how far I’ve come!

I love how we as humans emulate nature – the seasons, the phases of the moon.

Well I’m entering middle age, and I plan to embrace it!  That doesn’t mean I can’t still be young at heart, of course, it just means that for me since I became a mother 2 years ago I have felt completely ready to be fully in this second phase of my life.  I’m finally happy to be a crafty nerdy homebody that stays at home all the time, doesn’t smoke or go out til 8am every weekend.  That’s something to celebrate!

I will also hopefully have the pleasure of growing old with my husband and little boy.  Watch my son grow up.  I know children grow up so quickly and I plan to document as much as I can – stopping short when the process of documentation gets in the way of savouring the moment for itself.

(Read the classic Jenny Joseph poem and watch The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel film for further getting old celebration!)

2.  Giving and Receiving Compliments.

nicky book 5  dusk round corners

I’m such a big fan of compliments – both the giving and the receiving.  When I receive a compliment I try to write it down and put it in a special compliments scrapbook I’ve made.  I often forget, but I love the idea anyway!! I write the date, the compliment, and who said it to me. It’s such a lovely thing to look back on, all the more so if you’ve had a bad day or are feeling a bit down on yourself.

I think it’s important to try to accept any compliments we’re given.  I know it can be difficult, (especially as women, as we’re basically indoctrinated from birth to be self deprecating), but a smile and a thank you and not a self put-down both acknowlege the giver of the compliment and train the mind of your future self that you are worthy to receive future compliments!

And on the flipside:  Giving someone a compliment can be such a simple thing to do yet yield such massive results.  What’s not to like?!! Maximum output for minimum input!  I’ll never forget the time I told one of my dad’s friends his new haircut really suited him – he grinned from ear to ear and his face lit up like I’d completely made his day!  It was wonderful!  I was a bit taken aback by what an effect I’d had by something I’d thought so little over.

Anyway my point is it’s a very easy way to make someone happy.  I’m not talking about saying something for the sake of it or saying something false, but If I think something nice about someone I make a point of saying it.  I’ve started doing it with strangers too, which admittedly makes me feel a bit of an idiot at times, but I can assure you it’s completely worth it!

Compliment scrapbooks make amazing presents too by the way.  For my mum’s 60th birthday and when some friends left Barcelona I asked people what their favourite memories about that person were or what they loved most about them, and compiled all the answers together in a little arty book.

Hearing such nice details and anticipating the joy the recipient is going to feel at all those lovely things others treasure  about her is almost as good as being on the receiving end of something like that myself….(double win!)

I also make a point to pass on compliments I’ve heard said about someone. Why not, eh?  A bit of positivity is always worth sharing…

3.  Writing to-do lists and paying bills.

feb planner

open planner2

I’ve recently got into decorating daily planners, which apparently is a big ole phenomenon I’ve been missing out on!  Suzi Blu mentioned this Facebook Page and since I discovered that I’ve been making my daily diary pretty with washi tape and glitter and stickers and revelling in being 10 years old again!  There’s something to be said for making the ordinary parts of the everyday special, or adding a bit of positive attention and mindfulness to them, and I can happily report that I now enjoy writing my daily to-do lists because they look so pretty!

And as for paying bills…well, of course it’s mostly done online now, but getting into the habit of keeping records and accounts- of what we usually see as boring or negative parts of life- in really pretty stationery, and using a favourite pen to do it, really makes a difference to how you approach such chores.

Also, as I believe SARK once said, try changing your attitude to being grateful. Instead of cursing utility companies for having such sky-high prices, start at least acknowledging the fact that we’re in a somewhat privileged position to have access to and be in a position to pay for running water, electricity, gas, all on demand.  How often do these things really not work or go wrong?  Not very often!!

planner front

What ordinary things do you believe are worth celebrating?

With love and ordinariness,

Jenny xx

PS  I’m so okay with imperfection these days (thanks Brené Brown) I’ve even included the last photo which has the ‘d’ from ‘daily’ and the Thursday stickers missing!!  Ha ha!!

2 thoughts on “3 Ordinary Things Worth Celebrating

  1. Hi Jenny. Can I just say first of all how much I love your planner and compliment journal? Both are so brilliant really. Your three celebrations are great! I looooove your thought about changing your attitude to be grateful. I can always use more of that in my life.

Leave a Reply

